Anime and High School

yuno

If you weren’t aware, I’m 17 and going to be starting 12th grade this September. I have also been watching anime since I was a wee boy. I became more active with it once I reached 8th grade. Now let me get to my point.

I would watch anime like Shakugan no Shana and compare myself to how old they were. As fictional characters they were older than me! Same with Persona and other stuff I was watching/playing at the time. Although now, I am either as old, or older than all of these high school characters! It’s so weird.

I still play Persona from time to time, and now I’m older than most of the characters! I got older than them, as they remained the same. (I mean unless we consider persona 4 arena and and and) AHEM. Anyway, now I’m able to relate to a lot of the struggles these characters have. Mainly concerning college, motivation, dreams, finding the path we truly want to lead and other big kid life talks. I have the general idea, but I’m still struggling to find where exactly I belong. What’s really interesting, is how much anime has legitimately made an impact/helped me indirectly. And I mean overall, relating these characters on as simple of a level as just being the same age, or doing similar stuff comes to mind as well.

Then I start thinking, “What happens when I get older? Will I be able to relate and enjoy such anime if I’m not in high school or college?” Maybe I will, maybe I won’t. Even anime set in one place can offer many different views and events, even if it’s just a bunch of high school kids. I won’t deny, it’ll definitely make me feel weird and probably old. That’s the fun of it though, going in for the bittersweet nostalgia. Hopefully by then I can say I’m having even more fun than I did when I was their age. But hey, I’m only 17, I got a ways to go and a heck of a lot of work to do.

Credits to HidaSketchx365 Episode 9 2nd half, for prompting me to feel like writing this. HidaSketch makes me do feel like doing stuff like this sometimes. I thank it for that. Maybe I’ll write about it another time. Maybe.

Anyway! Hope this was coherent for something I just spontaneously wrote at 3:30 in the morning. Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

